Faith

IMG_1080Hi everyone, my name is Jialin, but I go by Faith 🙂 I am an communications exchange student from Singapore and a sophomore at the University of Maryland.

I became interested in mass incarceration when I saw the trailer for 13th, a Netflix documentary that sheds light on mass incarceration and race and when I visited Eastern State Penitentiary in Philadelphia. It is shocking to learn that this is the system the US has fiercely adopted in dealing with criminals (in contrast to other countries that focus on deterrence or rehabilitation). What is worse is that the private prison industry is making profit off of incarceration.

I hope that through this blog, people will begin to question the basis of mass incarceration and private prisons, which is especially relevant now that Trump’s new administration supports the use of private prisons.

Leave a Reply

